So January was a pretty decent month for music. In this article I will be briefly recapping the albums I reviewed this month along with a few more that I didn’t get to properly review; and then nominating an album and a top 3 singles of the month.

First review of the month, and indeed the site, was Night People by You Me At Six. While this album was pretty good fare from You Me At Six, and certainly my favourite album by them to date, it has failed to stick in my mind, and no singles stand out from that album in the way that past hits like Loverboy have. Ambitions by ONE OK ROCK was a similarly competent album from a band I had not heard of before, although it did end up generating a single that has stuck with me since: Bombs Away is an absolute barnstormer of a track.

Only the Lonely by Colony House was my first “Excellent” album of the month, and has held up to that since I think, with songs such as Cannot Do This Alone and You & I sticking in my memory. Modern Ruin by Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes followed, and while this album was quite good I have not returned to it at all since.

The Last Text EP by Jacob Sartorius and Vessels by Starset were two albums to definitely miss, and I can safely say that I haven’t even thought about returning to either of these – although I have shown a few friends Bingo from the Sartorius album for pure comedy value.

Okay. was a pretty mediocre album in the main, but Soap is still an absolutely stand-out track, and AS IT IS should be proud of their efforts on this one. Yesterday’s Gone  by Loyle Carner was definitely the surprise of the month, and I have returned to this one regularly when in need of a calming atmosphere or by contrast some brilliant hip-hop. My last review of the month, All These Countless Nights by Deaf Havana, left very little of an impression.

Aside from these, I listened to a couple of albums at the tail end of the month: Near to The Wild Heart of Life by Japandroids was a good indie offering that would probably have merited the rating in accordance with the superlative I just used; and The Devil Don’t Sleep by Brantley Gilbert was initially exciting country rock that all began to blur together with the sheer length of the album – a definite average album.

Best album in my mind was indeed Loyle Carner’s offering, as it just has so many standout tracks on it and forms a tight-knit, personalized hip-hop experience unlike any other. Best singles would be a bit of a toss-up, but in the interests of variety I’ll give it to Soap for its interesting use of reggae-style verses; NO CD for its excellent utilization of throwback hip-hop styles, and Bombs Away for just how much of an anthem it is.

That’s all folks, see you in a couple of days for the start of February’s reviews.

Best Album: Yesterday’s Gone – Loyle Carner

Best Songs: 

  • Soap – okay. – AS IT IS
  • NO CD – Yesterday’s Gone – Loyle Carner
  • Bombs Away – Ambitions – ONE OK ROCK
